Butternut Squash

Mmm, who else enjoys eating Stuffed Butternuts? I bought a beaut of a butternut this afternoon, and after chatting to my lovely friend, Robyn on the phone who gave me some handy hints, I made Stuffed Butternut Squash for supper! And it was Perfect!!!

This is what I did:

1 Butternut, cut in half lengthways and pips removed. I then cut out (well actually, my husband was helpful and came and did it for me)  some of the flesh to dice into little bits for the stuffing mixture for later.

I sprayed the tops with Light Virgin Olive Oil spray and placed into preheated oven (200°C/fan oven 180°C) for 30 minutes.

While that was cooking, I put a saucepan on the stove, sprayed it lightly and then started adding 400 grams of minced beef, browning it a bit at a time. Then I added onion and garlic and cooked, stirring it all the time. Once it was nicely browned, I added a mixture of tomato puree and garlic (and other seasons if you wish) and the leftover diced butternut. Brought it to boil and then simmered it for about 15 to 20 minutes without the lid on.

This is the mixture in process:

I removed the pan from the oven and spooned the stuffing mixture into the butternut squash halves. Then returned the whole lot to the oven and baked it for a further 15 minutes.

I garnished it with parsley and served up to the family… who were mmmming the whole way through the meal.

Definitely be making that one again! :)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

